The Stanley County School District, #57-1, Board of Education met in regular session April 7, 2014 at 5:30 P.M., in the Board Room at the Parkview Gymnasium with Sarah Carter, Gary Johnson, Rick Cronin, Nicole Prince and Tina Titze present. Others in attendance were Superintendent Dan Martin, Principal Michelle Glodt, Principal Timothy Hollar, and Business Manager Dawn Stover. Visitors were Jennifer Milliken, Jeff Hegge, Linda Brown, Kim Doherty, Danae Paxton, Audrey Jones, Candi Boes, Jeri Wieczorek, Kaycee McDaniel, Carol Olson, Brad Stover, Joel Ebert with the Capital Journal, and Brock Heying with Brosz Engineering.

President Carter called the meeting to order at 5:30 P.M.

President Carter led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Johnson moved, seconded by Cronin, to adopt the agenda with the changes as noted – Capital Projects Fund Detail not available until invoices have been received. All voted aye.

Titze moved, seconded by Prince, to adopt the Consent Calendar. All voted aye.

 Approve the Regular Board Meeting minutes for March 10, 2014 and the Special Board Meeting Minutes for March 24, 2014

The Board recognized the following students who have received all "A's" or at least a 3.6 grade-point average for the third nine-weeks of the school year. Board Member Rick Cronin and Superintendent Dan Martin presented the certificates.

All A - 4.0 GPA
Hailey Norman
Bailey Tibbs
Cooper Carter
Ali Scott
Tawnee Whitley
Martee Larson
Kady Nielsen
Cassidy Carda
Carson Wyly

A Honor Roll - 3.6-3.99

Cade Larson

Amelia Newbold

Adam Wyly

Lukas Chase

Kaycee Cronin

Shale Kramme

Slater Pauly

Daniel Slama

Kelsey VanDenHemel

Cody Clarambeau

Tori Jones

All A - 4.0 GPA

Paige Gloe

Ryan Habeck

Elise Carda

JD Carter

Micah Hallock

Riley Hannum

Mattie Jones (Cheyenne)

A Honor Roll 3.6-3.99

Abigail Arhart

Adam Brown

Ricky Pickner

Logan Rosenberger

Carlee Olson (Cheyenne)

Courtney Brown

Logan Chase

Trevor Habeck

Austin Hand (Cheyenne)

Brady Hoftiezer

Braya Klemann

William Spangenberg

Wyatt Deal

Elizabeth Duffy

Brooke Gloe

Kylie Heezen

Ladd Kramme

Lane Kramme

Slater Tople

Reid Wieczorek

All A - 4.0 GPA

Eleah Carda

Trace Newbold

Austin Russell

Lucas Jones (Cheyenne)

Daysen Titze

A Honor Roll 3.6-3.99

Trey Frost

Makenna Gray

Jack Hallock

Jasi Kroll

Tori Fratzke

Kaden Heezen

Elleana Holley

Vanya Kliewer

Kedrick Martin

Evan Nordstrom

Kamryn Schilling

Stran Scott

Taylee Stroup

Mr. Martin presented the K-5 Building Committee Report. Kits have been installed in the vents to eliminate the noise and River City Plumbing fixed the floor drains that were raised. Discussion was held on drainage around the new addition.

Titze moved, seconded by Cronin, to accept the CommTech quote for the Access Control Additions in the K-5 Building for \$6,182.39. Discussion was held. All voted aye.

Mr. Martin presented the Buildings and Grounds Report. Items covered were to wait on the north parking lot repair until the audit is complete, south parking lot crack sealing, air conditioning for high school and Parkview rooms, repairing football bleachers, sidewalk repair in front of Parkview, area south of Parkview deemed a floodway so Wrestling building cannot be built there, flag pole to be installed by new K-5 building, and patching the holes in the north parking lot with cold mix.

Brock Heying with Brosz Engineering addressed the Board on the proposed agreement for Engineering Services for the Parkview parking lot.

Johnson moved, seconded by Titze, to accept the Agreement for Engineering Services with Brosz Engineering Inc. for the Parkview Parking Improvements with the removal of the submission and completion dates. The agreement is for \$5,335.00. All voted aye.

Cronin moved, seconded by Titze, to accept the bid for \$500.00 from Sharpe Enterprises for the Leer Walk-In Cooler. The other bid received was from Pat Evans for \$251.00. All voted aye.

Cronin moved, seconded by Titze, to accept the bid for \$400.00 from Sharpe Enterprises for the Hobart Walk-In Freezer. Other bids received were from Nita & Randy Sarvis for \$577.43 which was withdrawn after viewing the freezer and Pat Evans for \$251.00. All voted aye.

Titze moved, seconded by Cronin, to award the bid to Sharpe Enterprises for Playground and Parking Lot Grading Phase 1 for \$49,807.00 to be paid from unobligated funds. Discussion was held. All voted aye.

Mr. Martin updated the Board on Hayes School and Orton School. The district will be sending letters to the county patrons regarding the closing of these two rural schools.

Cronin moved, seconded by Prince, to approve the GOLD Program Parent & Student Handbook and Registration for the 2014 Summer Program. All voted aye.

Mr. Martin presented the Superintendent's Report. Items covered: changes in start time for 2014-2015 school year - all students will start at 8:00 a.m. K-5 will dismiss at 3:35 p.m. and 6-12 will dismiss at 3:40 p.m. Titze expressed her hesitation at having the same start and dismissal times for safety reasons. Other items covered: May 7, 2014 meeting with city and county reps to discuss tax levy and budget for next school year, May Board meeting at Cheyenne, thanked the Spring into Learning committee, acknowledged art students who presented totes to Legislatures adorned with their artwork, investing of Ole Williamson funds, receiving quotes from cleaning services, technology staff update, and future conferences.

Mr. Hollar discussed that dual credits will be available for the upcoming school year and the need to adjust the virtual high school policy.

Carter declared a short recess at 6:50 P.M.
Carter declared the Board back in Session at 6:57 P.M.

Prince moved, seconded by Cronin, to go into Executive Session according to SDCL 1-25-2 for personnel purposes at 6:57 P.M. All voted aye.

Carter declared the Board back in session at 8:33 P.M.

Titze moved, seconded by Prince, to accept the resignation of Bob Iversen as Head of Maintenance effective April 11, 2014. All voted aye.

Cronin moved, seconded by Johnson, to accept the resignation of Dawn Stover as Business Manager effective June 30, 2014. All voted aye.

Cronin moved, seconded by Titze, to accept the resignation of Lee Heibel as MS/HS Science and Biology Teacher and MS Football Coach effective at the end of the 2013-2014 school year. All voted aye.

Cronin moved, seconded by Johnson, to accept the resignation of Andrea Siemonsma as Third Grade teacher effective at the end of the 2013-2014 school year. All voted aye.

Prince moved, seconded by Titze, to accept the resignation of Julie Neilan as assistant cook effective May 22, 2014. All voted aye.

Prince moved, seconded by Cronin, to accept the resignation of Bonnie Libner as Business Office Secretary and Food Service Secretary effective May 29, 2014. All voted aye.

Titze moved, seconded by Prince, to accept the resignation of Joyce Larsen as Title 1 Teacher effective at the end of the 2013-2014 school year. All voted aye.

Titze moved, seconded by Johnson, to authorize the Business Manager to issue Letters of Intent to Classified Staff. All voted aye. This includes Lana Adams, Lou Ann Adamson, Jessica Chalcraft, Judy Fosheim, Maureen Frost, Kim Jones, Krista Kerns, Cindy Kindle, Marcy Kuper, Jeanette Lucero, Denise MacDonald, Carol Olson, Andrew Opp, Mona Smith, and Andrew Yeager.

Johnson moved, seconded by Prince, to authorize the Business Manager to issue Letters of Understanding to Kevin Carter as Assistant Wrestling Coach, Hillary Hanson as Head Gymnastics Coach, Michelle Kolb as Head Volleyball Coach, and Misti Lewis as Assistant Gymnastics Coach.

Titze moved, seconded by Prince, to adjourn at 8:37 P.M. All voted ave.

Sarah Carter, President	Dawn R. Stover, Business Manager